WA Liberals unveil mid-year Shadow Cabinet shake-up

Three former guests on Purple's The Bench were among the big movers as the WA Liberals moved closer to the team they will take to the 2021 State Election.

Purple 16 Jul 2020
3 mins
Photo to go with story on WA Liberals' Shadow Cabinet changes

Three former guests on Purple’s The Bench continue to rise through the WA Liberal Party ranks, with Zak Kirkup, Tjorn Sibma and Libby Mettam all picking up additional responsibilities in a mid-year Shadow Cabinet shake-up.

Mr Kirkup, who was one of the first guests on the Bench in early 2018, will take on the new portfolio of shadow minister for new industries, which WA Opposition Leader Liza Harvey said was a key strategic move as the State continues to negotiate the COVID-19 pandemic.

One of Mr Kirkup’s previous portfolios of innovation and disruptive technologies has been taken off the Shadow Cabinet list. He retains the positions of manager of Opposition business and shadow minister for health, mental health and Aboriginal affairs.

“The election will be won and lost on who has the best plan for [the] economy and jobs, which is why I am excited about these changes,” Opposition Leader Liza Harvey said in a statement.

“We live in an ever-changing world with technology. But what COVID-19 has taught us is that we must be more self-reliant.

“We need to be innovative to create more job opportunities for West Australians out of work as the State deals with the record unemployment numbers under the McGowan Labor Government.”

There are now less than eight months until the 2021 WA State Election – a milestone noted on Tuesday by active Twitter user Mr Kirkup.

Mr Sibma, who appeared on The Bench in March 2019, has added the portfolios of environment and forestry to an extensive list of responsibilities that already included being shadow minister for government accountability and procurement, public sector integrity and performance, and veterans issues.

Meanwhile, Ms Mettam has picked up the fisheries portfolio, to go with her existing roles as shadow minister for transport and ports.

Steve Thomas – previously the shadow minister for environment and forestry – replaces Jim Chown as shadow minister for agriculture and food, regional development and Royalties for Regions.

Tony Krsticevic has been appointed as shadow minister for cost of living, while continuing to serve as shadow minister for community services and youth, and special shadow minister for housing. Mr Krsticevic is also the Opposition whip in the Legislative Assembly.

Full Liberals WA Shadow Cabinet:

Hon Liza Harvey MLA
Leader of the Opposition; shadow minister for public sector management; state development; local jobs; trade; federal-state relations; citizenship and multicultural affairs

Hon Bill Marmion MLA
Deputy Leader of the Opposition; shadow minister for mines and petroleum; local government; science

Hon Peter Collier MLC
Leader of the Opposition in the Legislative Council; shadow minister for disability services; sport and recreation; Legislative Council Opposition policy co-ordinator

Hon Michael Mischin MLC
Deputy Leader of the Opposition in the Legislative Council; shadow attorney general; shadow minister for heritage; culture and the arts

Zak Kirkup MLA
Manager of Opposition business; shadow minister for health; mental health; Aboriginal affairs; new industries

Dean Nalder MLA
Shadow treasurer; shadow minister for energy

Sean L’Estrange MLA
Shadow minister for corrective services; emergency services; defence issues; racing and gaming

Hon Donna Faragher MLC
Shadow minister for education and training; women’s interests

Peter Katsambanis MLA
Shadow minister for police; justice; road safety; industrial relations

Hon Nick Goiran MLC
Shadow minister for child protection; prevention of family and domestic violence; commerce

Libby Mettam MLA
Shadow minister for transport; ports; fisheries; shadow minister assisting the leader

Tony Krsticevic MLA
Opposition whip in the Legislative Assembly; shadow minister for community services; youth; special shadow minister for homelessness; cost of living; housing; shadow minister assisting the leader in citizenship and multicultural affairs

Hon Simon O’Brien MLC
Deputy president of the Legislative Council; chair of committees; shadow minister for electoral affairs

Hon Ken Baston MLC
Opposition whip in the Legislative Council; shadow minister for northern Australia

Hon Steve Thomas MLC
Shadow minister for finance; agriculture and food; regional development; Royalties for Regions

Hon Tjorn Sibma MLC
Shadow minister for planning; environment; forestry; government accountability and procurement; public sector integrity and performance (shadow minister assisting the leader for public sector management); veterans issues

Kyran O’Donnell MLA
Shadow minister for seniors and ageing; volunteering

David Honey MLA
Shadow minister for water; industrial development; lands; Legislative Assembly opposition policy co-ordinator

Alyssa Hayden MLA
Shadow minister for tourism; small business.

Jennifer Kirk is an Associate Director in Purple’s Government Relations team and spent more than seven years in Canberra working for the Commonwealth Department of Finance, the Department of the Prime Minister and Cabinet and the Commonwealth Treasury. If you need help mapping out your government engagement, contact Jennifer.

More Purple news: